REVIEW| Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156
If you follow me on Twitter you would know that Six of Crows owns my life, and that the world that Bardugo has created an amazing diverse world with this book.

Authors: Leigh Bardugo

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

Publication Date: September 29 2015

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Rated it: ★★★

Summary: 

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

As soon as I read the synopsis of this book, I practically fell in love. The concept of this book intrigued me and I had really high expectations going into it. I’ve only ever read Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo before reading Six of Crows and that book was great, but I wouldn’t say it was one of my favorites. Six of Crows is a whole new different story though and it blew my mind away. I applaud Leigh Bardugo for writing a fantastic story with amazing characters that I absolutely fell in love with. After reading Six of Crows, I decided that it is definitely one of the best young adult books released in 2015.

This is the story of six different people joining together to complete an impossible task and it was one hell of a book. You’d think that reading so many different POVs would be boring, but I enjoyed reading each and every one of them. Even though the plot was interesting, the characters really carried the story and brought it alive. Kaz Brekker was the leader of this group and he was an admirable character even if he is tough and dangerous. Inej Ghafa was a kickass female character that I loved from the start for being so fierce. Matthias was the soldier who struggles between right and wrong because of what he was trained to think about magic. Jesper the sharpshooter who had a rocky past, but has his own strengths. Wylan has secrets of his own yet also plays an important part in this story (as we find out later on). Nina who was another badass character who showed so much strength in this novel. I honestly bow down to Leigh for writing such compelling and complex characters that made this story so amazing. These characters are different from each other and yet they join together bringing their own specialties to the table for this heist.

The heist and the story in general had a lot of twists and turns that compelled me to keep reading. The flashbacks were also interesting parts of the book that gave important insights on these six different complex characters. It was exciting to see these characters that have different personalities and motives come together to work with each other to pull of an impossible heist.  Overall, this book was just spectacular! It was a thrilling fantasy with a bit of romance, which made it a wonderful book to read. I’m not afraid to say that it was probably one of the best books I’ve read this whole year, it was that good. If you haven’t read this book yet, you definitely should! It’s a phenomenal story with exceptional characters and I absolutely loved it.

Leave a comment